Maryland Association of Communtiy Colleges - 16 community colleges, one voice

2010 All-Maryland Community College Academic Team Announced

Photo of All-MD Community College Academic TeamEllicott City, MD (May 5, 2010) - Twenty five top scholars from 13 Maryland community colleges were honored at the 16th Annual All-Maryland Academic Team Dinner hosted by Howard Community College at Turf Valley Resort.

In addition to being named to the All-Maryland Academic Team, several of the students received national recognition (and stipends ranging from $1,000 to $1,500) as members of the Coca-Cola All-State Academic Team.

The awards dinner is co-sponsored by MACC, the Maryland Council of Community College Presidents, and Phi Theta Kappa, the community college honor society. The colleges rotate responsibility for the logistics of the event; this year Howard Community College, Kate Hetherington, President, hosted at Turf Valley Resort, where it has been held for several years.

The keynote speaker was Marianne Mullan, the Maryland 2010 New Century Scholar. The New Century Scholars competition is sponsored by the American Association of Community Colleges, the Coca-Cola Foundation, and Phi Theta Kappa. There is one New Century Scholar selected from each State. Marianne, who received the highest All-USA Academic Team score of all the applications from the State of Maryland, was awarded a $2000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Foundation. She also ranked in the top 20 applicants in the nation and was, therefore, named to the 2010 All-USA First Team. The Scholars are presented at the annual AACC convention, which this year was in Seattle, Washington.

Marianne is a straight-A student at Montgomery College, where she is president of both the Phi Theta Kappa Chapter at the Rockville campus and the Montgomery County Agricultural Center Junior Board. She looks forward to continuing her studies at Franciscan University in Steubenville, Ohio, where she hopes to earn a master’s degree in counseling.

To learn more about the other community college top scholars, download a PDF of the event program. Open PDF

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

Back to home page